Two of the spots up for re-election on the Fort Smith Board of Directors are decided, as two candidates are running unopposed, according to a news release.

Incumbent Kevin Settle will remain in his spot as at-large, position 6 director, and Neal Martin will replace Don Hutchings in the at-large, position 7 spot.

Although Jerry Avillion filed for candidacy for Hutchings' spot, he will not be on the ballot because his packet could not be verified, Assistant City Clerk Heather Iames said. Some of the signatures were dated after the affiant's signature was dated, and the affiant's signature is supposed to signify that he or she saw everyone sing their name.

Martin ran against incumbent George Catsavis for Ward 4 director in 2016. Catsavis won with about 56 percent of the vote.

Four candidates, Sam Price, Robyn Dawson, Libby Piatt and Jerry W. Neel Jr., will be officially on the ballot for the at-large, position 5 spot currently held by Tracy Pennartz. George McGill, Luis Andrade and Wayne Haver are running for mayor.

A primary election will take place Aug. 14, with early voting beginning Aug. 7. The last day to register to vote is July 16.

In the contested races, one candidate must receive at least 50 percent of the vote to be elected in the primary. If no candidate receives at least 50 percent of the vote, the two candidates with the most votes will face off in the Nov. 6 election.