Arkansas Farm Bureau selects Darrin and Lexa Davis as the 2018 Phillips County Farm Family of the Year. Darrin and Lexa Davis will be visited by a set of judges. The judges will determine the eight district winners, to be announced June 20. They will be visited again by a different set of judges in July to determine a state winner, which will be announced December 6 at the Farm Family of the Year luncheon in North Little Rock.

Southeast District winners are:

Arkansas, N. – Jordan and Ashley Maier, Stuttgart

Arkansas, S. – Dean and Tawana Watson, St. Charles

Ashley – Robert B. (Tate) Watt, Crossett

Chicot – Berkemeyer and Sons, Lake Village

Desha – James Dunnahoe, Tillar

Jefferson – Joshua J. Euseppi, Altheimer

Lincoln – Steve Scott, Star City

Phillips – Darrin Davis, Lexa

“The Arkansas Farm Family of the Year program recognizes great farmers and ranchers each year,” said Randy Veach,

president, Arkansas Farm Bureau. “These families are involved in noble and important work to provide food, fiber and

shelter to the world.

“Congratulations to these great farm families. We are pleased to honor their success, stewardship, and commitment to

Arkansas agriculture.”

Since 1947, the Arkansas Farm Family of the Year Program has served as a vehicle to recognized outstanding farm

families throughout the state.

The objectives of the Farm Family of the Year program is, To give recognition and encouragement to farm families who

are doing an outstanding job on their farm and in their community; To gain recognition of the importance of agriculture in

the community and state; To disseminate information on improved farm practices and management.

The Farm Family of the Year program begins each year with the selection of top farm families in each county and

culminates in December with the selection of the state Farm Family of the Year who will then go on to represent Arkansas

at the Swisher Sweets/Sunbelt Expo Southeastern Farmer of the Year. Arkansas has had two overall winners, Brian and

Nan Kirksey of Clark County in 2008 and Wildy Family Farms of Mississippi County in 2016. All winners are judged on

their farm production, efficiency, management, family life and rural/community leadership.

Sponsors of the Farm Family of the Year program are Arkansas Farm Bureau, the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, and

the three Farm Credit agencies that serve Arkansas: AgHeritage Farm Credit Services, Farm Credit of Western Arkansas

and Midsouth Farm Credit. Additionally, support for the program is provided by the Arkansas Agriculture

Department, Arkansas Department of Career Education, Arkansas Press Association, University of Arkansas Division of

Agriculture and the USDA’s Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service and Rural Development.

Arkansas Farm Bureau is a nonprofit, private advocacy organization of more than 190,000 families throughout the state working to improve farm and rural life.