New commission to meet for the first time on Tuesday

Governor Asa Hutchinson today announced his final appointments to the Arkansas School Safety Commission, which will hold its first meeting on Tuesday.

Governor Hutchinson issued an executive order creating the commission on March 1, 2018, and tasked the commission with assessing the security of Arkansas’s schools and making recommendations accordingly. The Governor also committed $300,000 to the Criminal Justice Institute (CJI) for additional training for school resource officers and security assessments for schools.

“It is a top priority for me, as Governor, to ensure that our schools are a safe environment for our students to learn and for our teachers to teach,” Governor Hutchinson said. “I’ve appointed first-rate members of this commission who will travel to schools all across the state to listen and to assess what all is being done to secure our schools—as well as what more needs to be done. I am grateful for their willingness to serve our state.”

The School Safety Commission will meet for the first time on Tuesday, March 13, 2018, at 10 a.m. The task force’s initial report is due to the Governor on July 1, 2018.

Members of the commission are as follows:

*Dr. Cheryl May – Chair Director, Criminal Justice Institute (CJI) University of Arkansas System

*Bill Temple – Vice Chair Retired Special Agent, Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)

*John “Don” Kaminar - Special Projects and School Safety Manager Arkansas Department of Education (ADE)

*Brad Montgomery - Director of Public School Academic Facilities Arkansas Department of Education (ADE)

*A.J. Gary - Director, Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM)

*Sheriff Tim Helder - Washington County Sheriff

*Jami Cook - Director, Arkansas Law Enforcement Training Academy (ALETA)

*Will Jones - Deputy Attorney General, Special Investigations Unit Office of the Attorney General

*David Hopkins - Superintendent, Clarksville School District

*Dawn Anderson - High School Counselor, Hot Springs High School

*John Allison - Teacher, Vilonia High School

*Tom Jenkins - Chief of the Rogers Fire Department

*Marvin L. Burton - Deputy Superintendent for the Little Rock School District

*Lori Poston - Child and Adolescent Therapist from Jonesboro

*Dr. Margaret Weiss - MD, PHD, UAMS Professor Department of Psychiatry, and the Director of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

*Ricky Hopkins - Parent of student in Prescott School District

*Dr. Sterling Claypoole - Professor in Psychology at South Arkansas Community College and Parent of students in El Dorado School District

*Dr. Joyce Cottons - Superintendent for the Marvell-Elaine School District