William Henry “Pete” Igou Sr., 78, of Batesville, died Jan. 14, 2017 at his home.

William Henry “Pete” Igou Sr., 78, of Batesville, died Jan. 14, 2017 at his home.

He was born Jan. 15, 1938 at Sweet Home to the late John and Maude Igou.

He was a member of the Harrison Street Church of Christ and enjoyed visiting with all his many friends and family.

He graduated from Barton High School then taught agri and drove a school bus. He was a member of the Arkansas National Guard for a time. He graduated from the Nashville, Tennessee Diesel and Automotive School. He worked as a diesel and car mechanic and then as a millwright at Allied Chemical in Helena. He taught at Phillips County Community College for several years.

He moved to Batesville in 1982 and worked at the Independence Power Plant until he retired in 1994.

He was preceded in death by his parents, his wife Betty Sue Igou and brother Jim Igou.

He leaves a son, William Henry “Bill” Igou Jr. and wife Anita of Bee Branch, James Gaylan Hayes and wife Patricia of Sulphur Rock and Jason Varnell Hayes and wife Tawnya of Olive Branch, Mississippi; his brother Thomas Igou of Malvern, sister Ollie Taylor and husband Tommy; five grandsons, Carlton Alexander Hayes and wife. Brittany of Rayville, Louisiana, Samuel Logan Hayes of Brandon, Mississippi, Jonathon Vance Hayes and wife Amber of Memphis, Tennessee, Patrick Dylan Hayes of Fayetteville and Joseph Martin Hayes of Olive Branch, Mississippi; a granddaughter, Hannah Sullivan Igou of Bee Branch; three great-grandchildren, Elizabeth Lea Hayes and Myles Alexander Hayes of Rayville, Louisiana and Adalynn Hayes of Memphis; and a multitude of nieces and nephews.

After God and his family on earth, there was nothing he loved more than visiting with friends, working in his shop, and helping others.

The funeral service will be Wednesday, Jan. 18 at 10 a.m. in the Willis Funeral Service Chapel with Brother Steve Smith officiating.

Pallbearers include: Jonathon Hayes, Alex Hayes, Logan Hayes, Dylan Hayes, Carroll Casey and Phillip Lloyd.

Honorary Pallbearers include: Joseph Hayes, Hannah Igou and Tommy Taylor.

In lieu of flowers donations may be made in memory of Mr. Pete to the Paragould’s Children’s Home or the Arkansas Sheriff’s Youth Ranch.