Helena has a new mayor. Alderman Jay Hollowell netted 1,750 of the 3,464 votes cast in the city's mayoral race to garner 50.52 percent.

Helena has a new mayor. Alderman Jay Hollowell netted 1,750 of the 3,464 votes cast in the city’s mayoral race to garner 50.52 percent.

Hollowell was in a race with five other candidates that included two former mayors James F. Valley and Johnny Weaver plus Marvin Jarrett, Shirley Davis Foreman and David Liberace. Valley was runner-up with 1,123 votes or 32.42 percent of the votes cast. Jarrett got 8.66 percent, Weaver, 4.36 percent, Foreman, 2.63 percent and Liberace, 1.41 percent.

The Phillips County Election Commission met Thursday morning to decide the status of 11 provisional ballots.

“The results may change my vote totals,” commented Hollowell. “But, it is unlikely that it will alter the outcome of the election.”

In other city office races, Patrick Roberson retained his seat as city treasurer netting almost 71 percent of the vote. Challenger Derrick Turner received 29.24 percent. Chalk Mitchell won a second term as city attorney by outdistancing former city attorney Andre Valley 53 to 47 percent.

There were some changes on the city council with Ever Jean Ford ousting incumbent Eddie Clark Jr. from the Ward 1, Position 1 seat by a 65 to 35 percent margin.  Incumbent Wanda Crockett outdistanced her opponents for the Ward 1, Position 2 seat. Crockett got 48 percent of the vote to Edward “Buddy” Carter’s 28 percent. Eddie Clark Sr. and Bruce Hudson split the remaining 24 percent of the vote with 10.33 and 13.67 percent respectively.

In Ward 2, incumbent Joe St. Columbia blew away his opponent LaSalle English for Position 2 by a more than comfortable 67 to 33 percent margin. For position 2, the seat vacated by Hollowell, Adrian Messina generated almost 53 percent of the vote in a 3-way race. Billy McMillan was runner-up with 32.14 percent and Dexter Miller received 15.26 percent.

In the Ward 3, Position 1 race incumbent Christopher Franklin picked up 48.27 percent of the vote. Cedric Pride and Margie Blake shared an identical 25.86 percent of the vote. John Huff easily retained his Ward 3, Position 2 seat getting almost 56 percent of the vote. Challenger Lynn Corbitt got 44.17 percent.

Another incumbent, Larry Brown retained his Ward 4, Position 1 seat with a resounding 58 percent of the vote. Lewis O’Neal finished at 42 percent. Incumbent Monica Cartwright Davis overwhelming defeated challenger Gracie Gonner by a 74 percent to 26 percent margin for the Ward 4, Position 2 seat on the council.

In the lone contested county race on the ballot, Connie Stillwell-Smith won the race for treasurer by an 82.68 to 17.32 percent advantage over Wilbur Strotter.

Voter turnout in Phillips County increased by nearly 17 percent over the May preferential primaries in which fewer than 25 percent cast a ballot. On Tuesday, 5,950 out of 14, 262 registered voters, or 41.72 percent turned out for the election.