Texting while driving is a very unsafe and serious action. Law enforcement officials will tell you that driving is the single most hazardous activity people are involved on a daily basis. Just reading a text for 4 seconds while traveling at 60 miles per hour means the vehicle has traveled the length of a football field without the driver having looked at the road.

Texting while driving is a very unsafe and serious action. Law enforcement officials will tell you that driving is the single most hazardous activity people are involved on a daily basis. Just reading a text for 4 seconds while traveling at 60 miles per hour means the vehicle has traveled the length of a football field without the driver having looked at the road.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Arkansas reported 225 fatal accidents involving distracted driving in 2015 – the latest statistics available. That's nearly half of the state's 556 fatal accidents that occurred that year.

As of August 1, Arkansas drivers should be aware of a penalty increase for texting and driving.  One of the pieces of state legislation that took effect this past week allows a fine of up to $250 for the first offense of texting and driving. 

The legislation, passed this year by the Arkansas Legislature, also clarifies that reading or posting on social media while driving is prohibited.